

Draft programme with invited representatives

Version of 19 December 2019

Moderator: Bénédicte Paviot

TUESDAY, 24 MARCH 2020

Woderator: Benedicte Paviot	
08.00 - 09.00	Registration and welcoming coffee
09.00 - 09.30	 Opening session Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission Elisa Ferreira, Commissioner for Cohesion and Reforms Soibahadine Ibrahim Ramadani, President of the Departmental Council of Mayotte, Chair of the Conference of Presidents of the Outermost Regions
09.30 – 10.00	 Annick Girardin, Minister of Overseas, France Ana Paula Zacarias, Secretary of State of European Affairs, Portugal Marco Aguiriano, Secretary of State for the European Union, Spain
10.00 - 10.30	Coffee break and official photo
10.30 – 12.00	 Daniel Gibbes, President of the Collectivity of Saint-Martin (past Presidency) Vasco Alves Cordeiro, President of the Regional Government of the Autonomous Region of Azores (future Presidency) Ángel Víctor Torres, President of the Government of the Canary Islands Ary Chalus, President of the Regional Council of Guadeloupe Rodolphe Alexandre, President of the Territorial Collectivity of French Guiana Miguel Albuquerque, President of the Regional Government of the Autonomous Region of Madeira Alfred Marie-Jeanne, President of the Territorial Collectivity of Martinique Didier Robert, President of the Regional Council of Reunion
12.00 – 12.45	 Younous Omarjee, MEP – Chairman of the European Parliament Committee on Regional Development Marko Pavić, Minister for Regional Development and EU Funds, Croatian Presidency 2020 Karl-Heinz Lambertz, President of the Committee of the Regions Luca Jahier, President of European Economic and Social Committee
12.45 – 13.00	 Closing of the morning session Marc Lemaître, Director General, European Commission, Directorate-General for Regional and Urban Policy
13.00 – 13.30	Press conference or Press corner
13.00 – 14.45	Lunch

14.45 – 16.15 Panel debate n°1 - Developing climate strategies and protecting biodiversity in the Outermost regions

Speakers:

24-25 MARCH - BRUSSELS

- **Younous Omarjee**, MEP Chairman of the European Parliament Committee on Regional Development (invited)
- José Antonio Valbuena, Regional Minister for Ecological Transition, Fight against Climate Change and Territorial Planning, Government of the Canary Islands
- Alexandre Magnan, Senior Research Fellow at the Institute for sustainable development and international relations, Sciences Po, Paris

Developing climate strategies in the Outermost regions

- Questions from moderator
- Speakers' interventions / Questions and answers with the audience

16.15 - 16.45 16.45 - 18.00	Coffee break Protecting biodiversity in the Outermost regions
	 Questions from moderator Speakers' interventions / Questions and answers with the audience
16.30 – 18.30	Networking session (bilateral meetings)
18.00 - 18.30 18.30 - 21.00	Cocktail Dinner with live music

TOGETHER FOR A SUSTAINABLE FUTURE 24-25 MARCH – BRUSSELS

Moderator: Bénédicte Paviot

WEDNESDAY, 25 MARCH 2020

08.30 - 9.00 Welcome coffee

09.00 - 9.15 Opening speech

• Virginijus Sinkevičius, Commissioner for Environment and Oceans (invited)

09.15 – 10.45 Panel debate n°2 - Promoting circular economy in the Outermost regions

Speakers.

- **Susana Prada**, Madeira Regional Secretary for Environment, Spatial Planning and Climate Change, University of Madeira Professor
- **Jan Jonker**, Professor at the Radboud University in Nijmegen, Netherlands (invited)
- Juan Fernando Lopez Aguilar, MEP (invited)
- ...

Questions from moderator Speakers' interventions / Questions and answers with the audience

10.45 – 11.15 Coffee break

11.15 – 12.45 Panel debate n°3 – Blue economy, a driver for growth in the Outermost regions

Speakers:

- Keynote: Pascal Lamy, Chair of the Paris Peace Forum (PPF), Chair of the French Committee of the Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (PECC)
- Claudia Monteiro de Aguiar, MEP, Vice-Chair of the European Parliament Committee on Fisheries (invited)
- Carlos Andrade, Coordinator of the Calheta Mariculture Center, Government of the Autonomous Region of Madeira (invited)
- **Eleni Marianou**, Secretary General of the Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions

Questions from moderator Speakers' interventions / Questions and answers with the audience

12.45 - 13.15 Closing session

- **Soibahadine Ibrahim Ramadani**, President of the Departmental Council of Mayotte, Chair of the Conference of Presidents
- Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission (envisaged)
 or
- Elisa Ferreira, Commissioner for Cohesion and Reforms